You are here

Winners at the LA MS MAA Meeting

Top Stories

Davide Oppo publishes Nature article on 150 million year record of methane seepage

Davide Oppo of our School of Geosciences recently published an article in Nature,

Read More ➝

Tolga Karsili receives NSF grant to study chemical reactions cleaning the atmosphere

Tolga Karsili of our Department of Chemistry has been awarded a $250,000 grant from the National Science Foundation,

Read More ➝

Hayriye Gulbudak receives NSF grant to model infectious disease dynamics

Professor Hayriye Gulbudak of our Department of Mathematics received a three year NSF grant with total funding of $2

Read More ➝

A large group from our mathematics department attended the Louisiana Mississippi Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Section Meeting at Loyola University in New Orleans on 27-29 February 2020.

First place team

Third place team

The UL Lafayette teams did very well in the Student Team Competition. The team consisting of Andrew Bayard, Maxwell Kane, Grace Sternaman, and Madi Angerdina placed first! The team consisting of Lance Myers, Edward Babin, Jacob Echols, and Nicholas Henderson placed third. Ross Chiquet served as faculty advisor for both teams.

In the student paper/presentation competition, Maxwell Kane placed first and C. Andrew Bayard placed second. Ross Chiquet and Amy Veprauskas supervised Maxwell Kane's research, Ross Chiquet and Logan Perry supervised Andrew Bayard's research.

Student Presentations

  • The dynamics of a discrete-time, stage-structured, amphibian population model
    Maxwell Reigner Kane, Undergraduate, UL Lafayette
  • Dynamics of frog populations under the influence of two diseases
    Nicholas Henderson, Undergraduate, UL Lafayette
  • Cognitive hierarchy theory and the infinite centipede game
    Christopher Bayard, Undergraduate, UL Lafayette
  • A comparative study of physics-informed deep learning models for discovering partial differential equations
    Duong Nguyen, UL Lafayette
  • Analysis and applications of cognitive hierarchy theory for examples of two-player-two-action games
    Grace Sternaman and Madeleine Angerdina, Undergraduates, UL Lafayette

Main photo caption: Our student group at the LA-MS MAA 2020 meeting (L to R: Jacob Echols, Edward Babin, Lance Myers, Nicholas Henderson, Grace Sternaman, Madi Angerdina, Andrew Bayard, Maxwell Kane, and Ross Chiquet.