You are here

Top 50 College of Sciences Students Honored

Top Stories

Davide Oppo publishes Nature article on 150 million year record of methane seepage

Davide Oppo of our School of Geosciences recently published an article in Nature,

Read More ➝

Tolga Karsili receives NSF grant to study chemical reactions cleaning the atmosphere

Tolga Karsili of our Department of Chemistry has been awarded a $250,000 grant from the National Science Foundation,

Read More ➝

Hayriye Gulbudak receives NSF grant to model infectious disease dynamics

Professor Hayriye Gulbudak of our Department of Mathematics received a three year NSF grant with total funding of $2

Read More ➝

On Thursday, April 27, 2017, the top 50 students in the Ray P. Authement College of Sciences were recognized in a ceremony headed by Dean Azmy S. Ackleh. This group of 50 excellent students consists of the top 30 senior, 11 junior and 9 sophomore undergraduate students in our college. These students, all of whom are on the Dean's list and many of whom are on the President's list, were selected based on their cumulative GPAs and total credit hours earned during the 2016-17 academic year. In cases of equal GPA's the students with more credit hours were favored for this selection. The average GPA for these 50 students is 3.986. Thirty-four of the 50 had perfect 4.0 GPAs.

This was the second year that the college formally honored its highest-achieving undergraduates. Dean Azmy S. Ackleh met with the students as a group and individually to offer congratulations. Each student was presented with a custom Ray P. Authement College of Sciences t-shirt or coffee mug.

The complete list of awardees follows: James Baker, Brooke Baudoin, Jacob Beasley, Alyssa Bienvenu, Alexander Blanchard, Mallory Borel, Christopher Boudreau, Adam Broussard, Cassie Clark, Stephen Vo Clark, Katy Collins, Eleanor Cook, Jaden Danos, Brooke Davidson, Sydney Escott, Fatima Fazal-ur-Rehman, Katie Frith, Rachel Fulmer, Victoria Furka, Tiffany Gilbert, Bao Huynh, Anna Kaufman, Dahlia Khalifa, Tommy Lam, Keegan Lange, Andra Lee, Gregory Leger, Brenna May, Kelsie Melancon, Holly Monk, Laura Morley, Matilda Mostrom, Daniel Nurse, Wil Perkins, Delena Phung, Erin Picou, Hayden Presley, Hayley Redrick, Ashley Roy, Sarah Saunier, Linsey Schexnailder, Marae Schexnayder, Kate Thomson, Hayden Torres, Phuong Tran, Alix Tromblay, Diem Vo, Kaitlyn Warren, Catherine Weber, Alexandra Zamora.

Group Photo:
Back row, from left: James Baker, Rachel Fulmer, Katie Frith, Diem Vo, Anna Kaufman, Cassie Clark, Fatima Fazal-ur-Rehman, Brooke Davidson, Marae Schexnayder, Hayden Torres, Sydney Escott, Andrea Lee, Tommy Lam, Kate Thompson and Phuong Tran.
Front row, from left: Victoria Furka, Dahlia Khalifa, Bao Huynh, Holly Monk, Dean Ackleh, Matilda Mostrom, Laura Morley, Catherine Weber, Kelsie Melancon, Eleanor Cook, Delena Phung and Katy Collins.